Freestyle - Women          
Click on underlined Swimmer to access photograph and career highlights      
    50 Metres   100 Metres   200 Metres  
1960 Olympics     Fraser AUS  
1962 European     Pechstein DDR  
1962 Commonwealth     Fraser AUS  
1964 Olympics     Fraser AUS  
1966 European     Grunert DDR  
1966 Commonwealth     Lay CAN  
1968 Olympics     Henne USA Meyer USA
1970 European     Wetzko DDR Wetzko DDR
1970 Commonwealth     Coughlan CAN Moras AUS
1972 Olympics     Neilson USA Gould AUS
1973 World     Ender DDR Rothhammer USA
1974 European     Ender DDR Ender DDR
1974 Commonwealth     Gray AUS Gray AUS
1975 World     Ender DDR Babashoff USA
1976 Olympics     Ender DDR Ender DDR
1977 European     Krause DDR Thumer DDR
1978 Commonwealth     Klimpel CAN Perrott NZL
1978 World     Krause DDR Woodhead USA
1980 Olympics     Krause DDR Krause DDR
1981 European     Metschuck DDR Schmidt DDR
1982 Commonwealth     Croft GBR Croft GBR
1982 World     Meineke DDR Verstappen NED
1983 European     Meineke DDR Meineke DDR
1984 Olympics     Hogshead USA Wayte USA
        Steinseifer USA    
1985 European     Freidrich DDR Freidrich DDR
1985 Pan Pacific Dorman USA Johnson USA Steinseifer USA
1986 Commonwealth     Kerr CAN Baumer AUS
1986 World Costache ROM Otto DDR Freidrich DDR
1987 European Costache ROM Otto DDR Freidrich DDR
1987 Pan Pacific Pettis-Scott USA Torres USA Kremer USA
1988 Olympics Otto DDR Otto DDR Freidrich DDR
1989 European Plewinski FRA Meissner DDR Stellmach DDR
1989 Pan Pacific Thompson USA Zhuang CHN Noall USA
1990 Commonwealth Curry AUS Van Wirdum AUS Lewis AUS
1991 European   Plewinski FRA Jacobsen DEN
1991 Pan Pacific Thompson USA Martino USA Haislett USA
1991 World Yong CHN Haislett USA Lewis AUS
1992 Olympics Wenyi CHN Yong CHN Haislett USA
1993 European   Van Almsick GER Van Almsick GER
1993 Pan Pacific Thompson USA Thompson USA Poll CRC
1994 World Jingyi CHN Jingyi CHN Van Almsick GER
1994 Commonwealth Johnson AUS Bennett GBR Allers RSA
1995 European Olofsson SWE Van Almsick GER Kielgass GER
1995 Pan Pacific Van Dyken USA Thompson USA Chiba JPN
1996 Olympics Van Dyken USA Jingyi CHN Poll CRC
1997 European Mesheryakova RUS Volker GER Smith IRL
1997 Pan Pacific Jingyi CHN Thompson USA Poll CRC
1998 Commonwealth Rolph GBR Rolph GBR O`Neill AUS
1998 World Van Dyken USA Thompson USA Poll CRC
1999 European De Bruijn NED Rolph GBR Potec ROM
1999 Pan Pacific Thompson USA Thompson USA O`Neill AUS
2000 European Alshammar SWE Alshammar SWE Baranovskaya BLR
2000 Olympics De Bruijn NED De Bruijn NED O`Neill AUS
2001 World De Bruijn NED De Bruijn NED Rooney AUS
2002 European Alshammar SWE Van Almsick GER Van Almsick GER
2002 Commonwealth Sheppard GBR Henry AUS Pickering GBR
2002 Pan Pacific Thompson USA Coughlin USA Benko USA
2003 World De Bruijn NED Seppala FIN Popchanka BLR
2004 European Alshammar SWE Metella FRA Potec ROM
2004 Olympics De Bruijn NED Henry AUS Potec ROM
2005 World Lenton AUS Henry AUS Figues FRA
2006 Commonwealth Lenton AUS Lenton AUS McClatchey GBR
2006 European Steffen GER Steffen GER Jedrzejczak POL
2006 Pan Pacific Joyce USA Coughlin USA Hoff USA
2007 World Lenton AUS Lenton AUS Manaudou FRA
2008 European Veldhuis NED Veldhuis NED Isakovic SLO
2008 Olympics Steffen GER Steffen GER Pellegrini ITA
2009 World Steffen GER Steffen GER Pellegrini ITA
2010 European Alshammar SWE Halsall GBR Pellegrini ITA
2010 Pan Pacific Hardy USA Coughlin USA Schmitt USA
2010 Commonwealth Kukla AUS Coutts AUS Palmer AUS
2011 World Alshammar SWE Herasimenia BLR Pellegrini ITA

      Ottesen DEN    
2012 European Steffen GER Sjostrom
SWE Pellegrini ITA
2012 Olympics Kromowidjojo NED Kromowidjojo NED Schmitt USA
2013 World Kromowidjojo NED Campbell  C. AUS Franklin USA
2014 Commonwealth Halsall GBR Campbell  C. AUS McKeon AUS
2014 European Halsall GBR Sjostrom SWE Pellegrini ITA
2014 Pan Pacific Campbell  C. AUS Campbell  C. AUS Ledecky
2015 World Campbell  B. AUS Campbell  B. AUS Ledecky USA
Pellegrini ITA
Ledecky USA


Campbell  C.
Campbell  B.